My Life Revolves Around the Internet

So the internet has become about 10 times more important since coming out here. Having immediate access to what’s going on at home makes the 10,000 mile distance feel significantly smaller. And of course, as luck would have it, the internet in my house is appalling.

FaceTime is my main tool for contacting loved ones back home with a dash of Facebook messenger and a good old dollop of whatsapp. And it makes me feel so much better after catching up with folk. It also results on feeling like I’ve lost a limb when I can’t get internet access, which happens pretty much daily. I’ve even had to resort to going to the local library for better internet.

So a public apology for my current hiatus from the internet but I’m attempting to resolve the issue with a combination of dongle, phone data and free wifi from coffee shops.

And here’s a picture of one of my most entertaining FaceTime conversations with a bunch of gorgeous people.

image

Leave a Reply

