I have a pretty good work ethic. I didn’t actually know this before I came to the other side of the world and being a student doesn’t really give much of an insight into ones ability to have a proper job. The past two months have shown I can actually work pretty hard when I want to, I have held down two jobs and have worked a minimum of 50 hours per week. Luckily I now have three weeks of luxurious holiday in New Zealand courtesy of the Wharmby family. I have been fortunate enough to have visited New Zealand with my family before and have many fond memories of the glorious christmas we spent and so the prospect of having a kiwi christmas was highly enticing. Sue, Nick, James and Ella are amazing people, not only for taking me in over the holiday period but for being so warm, welcoming and incredible at planning stuff to do!

My first day in New Zealand was a pretty intense one. I landed in Aukland at about 5:30am after setting off from Melbourne at 11:50. I had worked 5 hours at my cafe and had managed to pack a suitcase and hand my room over to two Scottish lads by about 7:30pm which is when I hopped on public transport and navigate my way to the airport. Eventually I was on board, exhausted but relieved. Unfortunately I lack the ability to sleep on any form of aircraft. A quick three hour flight over and I was slightly delusional from lack of sleep. A speedy pass through passport control and baggage claim (really, it only took about 15 minutes to get through immigration, take note Australia!) and a quick purchase of a double shot coffee and I was officially on my hols. Ella and Sue kindly came to collect me and wished me back to their beautiful farm. One of the many joys of spending Christmas with the Wharmbys is their collection of wildlife. Three dogs, two cats, nine horses, three chickens and a herd of cows. Once acquainted with the livestock (including the cows) it was straight out the door and off to pick a christmas tree to chop down and decorate, although I attempted to do my own sawing it didn’t really go very well and I had to hand the saw back to the professional. Next on the agenda was a full food shop for the week and a cheeky stop to get horse supplies, nine horses take a heck of a lot of feeding! By this point it was about 1:00pm so we stopped off for a bit of sushi (more coffee for me) and then back for more decorating and christmas themed goodness. I was throughly spoilt and was cooked a full roast dinner, including Yorkshire puddings, which I have been craving since leaving the UK.

Exhausted doesn’t even cover it but my first day in New Zealand was fabulous.

Choosing the right tree
Choosing the right tree
Chopping down the Christmas Tree
Chopping down the Christmas Tree
Walks along the black sand beaches
Walks along the black sand beaches
Meeting the cows
Meeting the cows
Meeting the horses
Meeting the horses
Leave a Reply

