“We’re Going To Need A Bigger Boat (Cage)”

So this weeks New Zealand Adventures have simultaneously crossed off some to do activities but also added fuel to the fire (sorry in advance to my parents). Myself and Ella have been scouring ‘Grab One’, a New Zealand Groupon, for exciting things to see and do while I’m here. One such activity was a bit of scuba diving in a tank full of sharks. This may seem slightly odd to most but, since being in Australia, I’ve had a bit of an urge to go swimming with some toothy creatures. I’ve had a few snorkelling experiences when I was younger and the utter peace of being in the water is unlike any other. Unfortunately I wasn’t thinking this while attempting to squeeze myself into a moist wetsuit, the prospect of loosing a few limbs to a sand tiger looming. I have had little to no experience in wetsuit attire and they really are unfortunate things which, I’m 90% sure, make even the most stunningly beautiful human beings into unattractive blobs. In my case I looked particularly terrifying with my face all squidged into a tiny lycra hood. After suiting up we clambered into the mesh cage, were handed GoPros (more on this later) and were off. Several factors then became an issue. Firstly it had been quite a while since I donned a snorkel so the first 5 minutes were spent remembering how to breathe. Then, as I’ve had little experience in wetsuits, I realised it is very difficult to go under the water as you resemble a floatation device. The next 5 minutes were therefore spent clinging to the sides of the cage as my body was slowly dragged to the surface, reinforcing the need for me to work on my upper body strength. Once the kinks were ironed out I was finally able to immerse myself in the under water delights. Kelly Tarlton’s aquarium has four types of large shark in the Shark Tunnel – the Broadnose Sevengill, School Shark, Sand Tiger, and Wobbegong sharks. Of course I didn’t retain this information and they pretty much looked the same to me apart from the Sand Tiger shark which was particularly toothy. There were also an array of fish and some gorgeous Manta Rays (one of my favourite under-water delights). I did attempt to capture some of this under water magic with the GoPros we were given. Unfortunately I was absolutely terrible at using it and my videos featured netting and other people’s feet as I waved it about haphazardly. I also had a play with using my phone underwater after investing in a water-proof cover which went much better than expected. Of course our trip round the shark tunnel felt like it was over in a matter of minutes (the slightly blue tinge Ella and I were sporting was more representative of the 40 minutes we spent in the freezing cold water). I came out grinning like a maniac and have since decided I MUST go cage diving in the sea with some more sharks while I’m on the East Coast of Oz. Most likely roping in the family Briggs who will be visiting at some point.

Snorkel Selfie
Snorkel Selfie
Toothy
Toothy
Looking slightly chilly after our dip
Looking slightly chilly after our dip
Some other fishy delights
Some other fishy delights
DORY!
DORY!
Leave a Reply

