Becoming a Surfer?

Ok so I didn’t actually get on a surfboard but visited the best beach in New Zealand for catching some waves.

DSC00141

We headed to beach, body boards in tow, and set ourselves up on the black sand beach. The waves were exceptional (although I was told we didn’t go on a particularly good day for surfing) and I deluded myself into thinking I was super cool catching some waves on the body boards. In reality I probably resembled an overgrown child splashing around and whooping far more than was necessary. I did manage to get onto my knees at one point, swiftly followed by me falling off and being wiped out by a wave. Although I was royally shown up by a seven year old doing spins and tricks on his body board I enjoyed myself throughly and may have had to be dragged out of the water. Once again New Zealand blew me away with the incredible views and vantage points along the coast line. After a quick look around the shopping in Raglan and an obligatory ice-cream we set back on the long drive home. Another fun-filled, action-packed day and lets just all pretend i’ll be a surfer in no time.

nick wharrmby_6

Sue and Nick had, very generously, booked us in for a morning of paddle boarding in Raglan. None of us had ever been on a paddle board before although we had seen it being done or knew of someone who has given it a go. I didn’t really know what to expect apart from its a killer on your core muscles from maintaining your balance. After a quick lesson on land we knew(ish) how to use the oar and how to get on the board. We set off on a paddle round the harbour on the estuary. Although the forecast had not been overly positive we managed to avoid most of the wind and rain whilst we were paddling around and had a fabulous time. There was only one dunking into the water (Sue) and every one seem to take to it like a duck to water. I personally loved it, although I didn’t quite get to grips with the steering, and my abs ached for a couple of days following. It will certainly be something I want to keep doing in the future, especially if the views are as stunning as the ones New Zealand had to offer (Australia better up its game). Once we had reached land a quick fish and chip stop seemed necessary before exploration of Raglan.

DSC00147

 

 

We headed to beach, body boards in tow, and set ourselves up on the black sand beach. The waves were exceptional (although I was told we didn’t go on a particularly good day for surfing) and I deluded myself into thinking I was super cool catching some waves on the body boards. In reality I probably resembled an overgrown child splashing around and whooping far more than was necessary.

DSC00123

I did manage to get onto my knees at one point, swiftly followed by me falling off and being wiped out by a wave. Although I was royally shown up by a seven year old doing spins and tricks on his body board I enjoyed myself throughly and may have had to be dragged out of the water. Once again New Zealand blew me away with the incredible views and vantage points along the coast line. After a quick look around the shopping in Raglan and an obligatory ice-cream we set back on the long drive home. Another fun-filled, action-packed day and lets just all pretend i’ll be a surfer in no time.

DSC00134DSC00128

 

Leave a Reply

